Taking a Break Can Sometimes Be the Most Important

August 7, 2013 at 9:14 pm Leave a comment

I’ve just finished my 67th book on the list of 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die, the 8th from the list this year. At the end of 2012, I resolved to aim for 25 more books from the list by the end of the year. It’s August, and I’m way behind.

But, for at least a week or two, I’m about to take a break. This is because, as I mentioned in my earlier post, I’m trying to work my way through the list of books that I’ve been meaning to read for a long time now, and not all of those are on the 1001 list.

But that’s ok. I wouldn’t want to follow the list if it meant that I couldn’t take the time to read what I want. While there are a lot of great books on the list, there are also a lot of great books that aren’t on it. If I kept pushing myself to read as many list books as possible, not only would I miss out on all of those great books, I would also start to grow tired of it.

I think that, in the pursuit of any goal, it’s sometimes most important to know when it’s time to take a break. So I’m going to read Neuromancer, and Out of Silent Planet, and possibly even The Crucible. And then we’ll see how it goes. Because, while I do want to finish the list, I really just want to enjoy the ride.

Entry filed under: Books. Tags: .

The Drowned World Well. That’s Intense.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


