5 Posts that You Should Read

February 28, 2013 at 8:29 pm Leave a comment

Since I started blogging last summer, I’ve gotten into the habit of reading other people’s blogs. Before, there were a few blogs that I checked up on every once in a while, but when the WordPress Reader came along offering me all the latest posts just one click away from where I worked on my own blog, I really started to get into it. One by one, I built up the list of blogs I follow, and now I’m up to 14. Some of them post more often than others, and some hardly post at all, but almost every day I take the time to look through my Reader and click on any posts that catch my eye. Add to this anything neat I find on Freshly Pressed and the way I check out the blogs of people who follow me or like my posts and all of a sudden, I’ve read quite a lot of posts.

Now, while I do a lot of reading, it’s relatively rare that I “like” or comment on those posts. I only comment when I feel like I have something interesting to say or something new to add, and I only “like” when… well, when I genuinely like something. And as you may be able to tell from my reluctance to give out 5 star reviews, I reserve my likes for the really good ones.

So I was thinking, wouldn’t it be cool if I took a look at that list of posts I’ve liked and created my own post recommending some of them? I see it as a way to show my appreciation to all those people I follow (fairly quietly) as well as a way to share some great posts. Turns out I have enough for two or three posts, but for today I’ll stick to five.

The First Five

1. Never Give Up on Your Dreams

This one comes from a self-published author who gives out a lot of great tips about writing. This post from last month doesn’t disappoint. Even better, it also tells the personal story of how he became a writer. Plus the little cartoon at the top is really cute. What’s not to like?

2. If you insist on being a supermom you better take a lot of pictures

This next post is one that’s good for a laugh from another blog that I’ve been following for a while. This post specifically tells a story about the blogger, her ten year old daughter, and cake. And, well, just read the post. I liked it.

3. 2012 – October Prologue #15

I’ll admit that the title may not seem like the best, but it is a fun post. This one comes from the Nanotoons blog, which posts cartoons related to NaNoWriMo, the official month for writing a 50,000 word novel from start to finish. Even if you don’t participate in NaNoWriMo, it does have a fascinating little sub-culture. Plus, this post has the first part of a NaNoWriMo musical! What more could you want?

4. Jesus died, but now he lives. In Detroit. Sort of.

This post tells a really great true story about a singer, framed by smaller personal stories about the blogger’s father and his family and the effect this singer has had on their lives. And the lives of everyone in South Africa. It’s a long post (like many of this blogger’s), but I think it’s worth every word.

5. How to Know If You’re a Book Snob

The title of this one is self-explanatory. It tells you how to know if you’re a book snob. With examples. It comes from the blog of a man who’s reading the Time 100 list of books (plus Ulysses), and it’s a fun, reading-related post. Take a look!

Entry filed under: Blogging. Tags: .

I Finally Uploaded a Gravatar! I’m Still Alive! Want to Hear About Ireland?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


