I’m Going on An Irish Lit Kick!

February 7, 2013 at 12:39 pm Leave a comment

So usually at about this time of year, I’m taking a lit class that includes one or more novels from the 1001 list. This makes my reading selection really easy, as I have to do the reading anyway. I think since coming to college every single lit class I’ve taken has included at least one novel from the list, but not this semester. This semester, I’m taking Irish Literature, and while we’re reading a mix of short stories, plays, and poetry, we’re only reading one novel.

Now, I’m really interested in Irish Literature, and I’m really enjoying the class so far. To top it off, I’m actually going on a week long trip to Ireland next month as an optional part of the class, so I’ll actually get to see some of the things I’m reading about and bring back all these awesome pictures to accompany my reviews for once.

So I’ve scoured the 1001 list for any and all books written by Irish authors, especially ones that take place in Ireland and depict the culture or the history. I’m going to make a game of seeing how many I can squeeze in before (and maybe during, it’ll be a long plane ride) my trip to Ireland!

First up is Borstal Boy, a memoir by Brendan Behan about his three years spent as a prisoner in a reform school for transporting explosives for the IRA. (That’s Irish Republican Army, a military group that was against English control of Ireland.) I don’t know much of the history yet, but I’m hoping to learn more as I read.

Also on the list are The Last September by Elizabeth Bowen, Castle Rackrent by Maria Edgeworth, That They May Face the Rising Sun by John McGahern, and The Heather Blazing by Colm Toibin. I don’t know if I’ll get to them all, but I’ll certainly read as many as I can! They all look really good.

Entry filed under: 1001, Books. Tags: , , , .

Heart of Darkness Reading A Star Called Henry

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


