The End of NaNo

December 1, 2012 at 1:00 pm Leave a comment

December first. NaNoWriMo is officially over. And I’ve completely failed.

Last night, I made one last push, but it didn’t make anywhere near a significant dent in my wordcount. My wordcount is above 18,000 only because I decided to count my revisions on top of the words they would have replaced. I did that because, really, I wrote those words during the month even if it was only for them to later be deleted. The real wordcount of my novel stands at 16,841.

On the bright side, I am currently revising chapters 5 and 6, which are the last two chapters I’d written before I got the editing bug. That means I’m this close to being able to move forward again, in a much stronger direction.

Even though I didn’t get anywhere near reaching my goal, I think it was still worth it. I got more writing done than I would have otherwise, with this proving to have been such a crazy month school-wise. In the end, that’s good enough for me. I have a feeling that doing a truly sucessful NaNo isn’t going to be remotely possible until after I graduate.

Entry filed under: Writing. Tags: , .

Hades: Demons and Angels Tell Me What I Should Read Next!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2012
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


