Taking a Break From NaNo

November 25, 2012 at 4:34 pm Leave a comment

Yes, yes, I know there are only five days left of NaNoWriMo, but I feel like I’ve been neglecting my blog all month long. I apologize to all my readers. I’d planned to post so many interesting stories about my NaNo struggles: the ups and downs, the trials and the successes. And it just didn’t happen. As I said in a previous post, NaNoWriMo was clearly not made for college students.

Thanksgiving break finally did afford me time to write, and I did continue my editing, but it also sidetracked me. I walked into the room I share with my sister and saw this sitting on her bed. How could I resist? Because of NaNo, I’d been taking a break from reading, so it seemed like such a long time since my last book. Plus, I knew that my sister had checked it out because I had previously recommended Halo, by the same author, telling her that I’d read it and it had a really pretty cover. This book was the sequel to Halo, and I’m a sucker for a series.

One immediate attraction that the book posed was that it was a quick read. It’s been a long time since I’ve read any Young Adult. The last YA book I read was Graceling back in July, and it’s been a stream of (mostly) list books since. Books on the list are usually of excellent quality, but every once in a while it’s wonderful to have a book that you can easily run through in just a couple sittings without feeling overloaded or sacrificing comprehension.

That being said, I didn’t enjoy it as much as I would have liked. After finishing, I only gave it 2 1/2 stars, the same rating I gave Villette. There were several big reasons for this, and I think that each of them would make for very interesting blog topics, so I’ve decided to take a short break from NaNoWriMo in order to write a 3 part series. Part of this series will be strictly based on the book, but I will also be using the framework as a jumping-off point to larger topics. The first part, to be posted tomorrow, will discuss the main setting of the book: Hades, known to most of us as Hell.

Entry filed under: Books, Non 1001 Books. Tags: , , .

I’ve Got the Editing Bug A Literary Depiction of Hell (Or Hades if You’d Prefer)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2012
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


