Should I be a NaNo Rebel?

November 1, 2012 at 12:19 pm 3 comments

November has arrived… you know what that means: NaNoWriMo, a month dedicated to writing a novel, beginning from scratch and reaching the 50,000 word mark by the end of the month. I participated in NaNoWriMo last year, partially just to try it out, partially to encourage other members of my writing club to join me, and partially because I knew that any practice writing could prove helpful. I didn’t reach 50,000 words, though. Not even close. I got about 17,000. Mostly because I got lost in a sea of missing inspiration regarding the plot.

This year, I had decided against doing it again. Today, though, I began thinking. What if instead of doing NaNoWriMo I just tried to write as many words as possible in the novel that I’m currently working on? I’m at 12,936 words as of now. What if I just tried to get to 50,000 from there? That would put me at a little over 37,000 words, twenty thousand more than I got last year.

It’s totally cheating, of course, but I think that it sounds perfectly reasonable, given my situation. What do you guys think? Would you support me in this NaNo-esque quest if I choose to take it up?

Entry filed under: Writing. Tags: , .

Something Different A Sample of Famous People Mentioned in Wittgenstein’s Mistress

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. LailahMonte  |  November 1, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    This is pretty much exactly what happened to me last year AND what I’m deciding to do this year. I even write a post about it last week, though I called mine “National Quit Making Lame Excuses And Just Get It Done Month, or NaQuiMaLaExAnJuGeItDoMo.” Nnnnot quite as catchy as NaNoRebel. I may have to “adopt” that… 😀

    I’m being a total loony, though. I decided, since I don’t have time to blog, I’m just going to post the raw, unedited “whatever” I happened to write on my designated posting days. It’s going to be a train wreck.

    Reply
    • 2. dste  |  November 1, 2012 at 3:34 pm

      Best of luck to you! It’s good to know that I’m not alone.
      Can you give me a link to your blog so I can check out what you’re doing?
      Also, I can’t take credit for the term “NaNo Rebel” as I found it being used by many people in the NaNoWriMo forums. It’s even in their wiki. I do like it, though! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2012
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


