LT Group Read: Villette

October 15, 2012 at 12:56 pm Leave a comment

Now that I’ve finished Olaudah Equiano’s book, I’ve decided to join in the Library Thing 1001 group read for October. Every month the 1001 group determines a book to read and discuss, for anyone who wants to join in. This month’s book is one that I’ve been wanting to read for a while: Charlotte Bronte’s Villette.

Jane Eyre is one of my rare 5-star reads, so I have great hope that this book, written afterwards, will prove to be very good also. I’m currently in the fourth chapter, but I don’t know much about the narrator, Lucy Snowe yet. The first three mainly seemed to be about another character, Polly Home, so that I thought this might be a situation like The Great Gatsby in which the narrator and the main character are different people (Nick Carraway and Gatsby, in this case), but now that the two characters are separated, I’m beginning to wonder when and how Polly will come back into the story.

I’m sure it will start to take shape eventually, as there are over 600 pages, and I’m only on 46. With a book this long, you would think that it would take me a long time to read it, but I’m optimistic about this one. The more I enjoy a book the faster I read it, and I like this one so far. I can read very quickly when I want to. When the final Harry Potter book came out, I got a copy and started reading it as soon as possible, which actually meant that afternoon (I had to help finish my brother’s Saturday paper route). So I started later than I might have, but I still managed to read the entire thing before I fell asleep that night. That’s 759 pages in one day. An extreme example of course, but you get my point. I highly doubt I’ll finish Villette in a similar time frame, but I wouldn’t be surprised if I was finished with it by the end of the upcoming weekend, especially because I have Friday off.

Entry filed under: 1001, Books. Tags: , .

The Interesting Narrative of the Life of Olaudah Equiano, or Gustavus Vassa, the African. Written by Himself. This Blog Post was Written First on Paper

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2012
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


