I’m Instituting a New Rule

October 14, 2012 at 3:51 pm Leave a comment

My new rule


I finished reading Olaudah Equiano’s book last night. As you know, I’ve been having some mixed reactions about it. At times it was boring, but at other times it was depressing. (See my posts Sometimes You Have to Read Something Depressing and Reading Update 10/3) So I really can’t say that I enjoyed reading it, but I also feel that it wouldn’t be at all fair to give it a terrible rating. I could overhaul my entire system of rating so that it’s no longer based on how much I enjoyed a particular book, but that would be a lot of work. Instead, I’ve decided to add a new rule that provides an exception for books such as this one that have highly redeeming qualities apart from the ones I usually consider.

I call it: Rating Overridden in Light of Other Redeeming Factors or ROLORF. Basically it means that I reserve the right to slap this on the end of any review I want in lieu of a rating. If you see this after a title in the list of books I’ve read, you’ll just have to read my review of the book to understand why it’s there and what it means for that particular book because I plan to use it in a variety of circumstances.

I can definitely see myself using this for future 1001 titles because “Must Read” does not always equate to “Fun Time”. I understand that many of the books on the list were placed there for the effect they had on the world whether culturally or socially or whatever. Uncle Tom’s Cabin might be a good example. I maintain that, sometimes, reading a book is like eating a serving of broccoli: it might not taste good, but it’s good for you, and, in the end, a healthy and balanced diet is what makes you the happiest.*


* Actually, I rather like broccoli, but you get the point.

Entry filed under: 1001, Books. Tags: , , .

Sometimes, You Have to Read Something Depressing The Interesting Narrative of the Life of Olaudah Equiano, or Gustavus Vassa, the African. Written by Himself.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2012
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


