The Hound of the Baskervilles

September 29, 2012 at 2:07 pm 1 comment

“A hound it was, an enormous black hound, but not such a hound as mortal eyes have ever seen… Never… could anything more savage, more appalling, more hellish be conceived than that dark form and savage face which broke upon us out of the wall of fog.”

Having just finished The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, The Hound of the Baskervilles was a pretty fun and easy read for me. All of what I said about that book holds true for this one, except for the fact that this book is one long narrative and the other was a collection of shorter ones.

I found myself really enjoying the fact that The Hound of the Baskervilles was longer. Maybe I’m just a novel kind of girl, but I felt that it really gave the characters room to stretch. It also gave the plot time to develop slowly. Speaking of the plot, I liked that there was an ongoing danger in this one, rather than investigation after the fact of the crime, as many of the stories in Adventures were. Because of these two things, I found myself really caring about what happened to Sir Henry, not just because he was an innocent character, but because I’d gotten to know him a little.

I do wish that instead of having the customary wrap up where Holmes explains all the loose ends, just this once Arthur Conan Doyle could have found a way to reveal what was important during the course of the action and leave all the rest. I did want to know more about the criminal’s motive, but I didn’t really need to know some of the other things.

So the conclusion could have been a little better, but I enjoyed the rest of it even more than Adventures, so I give it


.
.
.

On a side note, I watched the Sherlock episode “The Hounds of Baskerville” last night. It’s so much better if you read The Hound of the Baskervilles first! Very recommended.

Also, credit for the above picture goes once again to my awesome sister.

Entry filed under: 1001, Art, Books, Reviews. Tags: , .

What Do You Think of Dimmesdale? Traffichacks: Can I press the “dislike” button?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. DSTE' s Sister  |  December 25, 2012 at 3:57 pm

    You’re welcome =) I had a lot of trouble drawing that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2012
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


