Reading Update- 9/22

September 22, 2012 at 9:01 pm Leave a comment

Alright, I confess. I did just what I said I didn’t want to do. I started reading yet another book. I know, I know, I said that I hate juggling four books at once. I blame it on my computer. If it hadn’t frozen for such a long period I never would have found myself wanting to read something while I waited. I also blame the university library for not having a paper copy of Olaudah Equiano’s book or of volume nine of Clarissa, thus forcing me to read e-book copies on my laptop, which rendered them unavailable when said laptop was frozen.

Really, I should just blame myself because it was my decision to buy The Hound of the Baskervilles and bring it to college with me. Well, what’s done is done. At least it’s short.

In case you’ve been following this blog and are saying, “Hey! I thought you just finished your Sherlock Holmes collection!”, you would be correct. However, The Hound of the Baskervilles is not part of the original collection, probably because it was published later, and the 1001 list puts them as two separate books.

The 1001 list is sometimes kind of weird like that. For example, the Lord of the Rings series, consisting of three books, is listed as one. On the other hand, a few Edgar Allen Poe stories are listed as full “books”. You win some, you lose some, I suppose.

So I’m quickly nearing the end with three chapters left to go, and then I’ll be back to three books. My Kindle app says that I’m 50% through volume 9 of Clarissa, and I can see that we’re definitely dealing with falling action. Olaudah’s at 23%. As for The Scarlet Letter, I’m carefully reading to the point that my Lit teacher assigns for each class period, so I can tell you with certainty that I will be finished by Tuesday. You can expect two reviews very soon. You can also expect me to begin to breathe a little easier.

Entry filed under: 1001, Books. Tags: , , , .

An Introduction to Posts on The Scarlet Letter What Do You Think of Dimmesdale?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2012
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


