Juggling Books

September 4, 2012 at 9:55 pm Leave a comment

So today, I read the first two chapters of The Scarlet Letter, or I should say that I reread them. Now, taking into account that I’m already reading The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes and Clarissa AND I’ve decided to get around to finishing the book about Olaudah Equiano (which has a name that’s much too long to keep repeating, even if I could remember it. Hey, he’s lucky I can spell his name correctly), you can see that I have a total of 4 books that I’ve started reading and that need to be completed. And, wouldn’t you know it, all 4 are on the 1001 list.

Normally, I’m the type of person who likes to stick to one book at a time. I like to focus on one plot, one set of characters, and read through to the end with them. In the case of quick reads, switching back and forth just makes everything much slower. In the case of books that are a little slow or a bit more difficult, if I pick up another book in the middle, I often end up leaving the first in the dust. Because if I read it together with a second book once, why not do it again? And pretty soon I’ve read ten books while I’m “still reading” the first. Even if the books in question don’t fall into the previous two categories, shuffling four books at once can get a little confusing.

So how did I end up in this situation? Well, with my schedule for reading Clarissa, it’s really not bad to read the daily portion, stop, and pick up a second. So there’s my first two. Then comes American Lit class, which assigns only the first two chapters of Olaudah Equiano’s book. A short break, and now we’re reading The Scarlet Letter. So it’s basically been a quick spiral.

I’m not so happy about this. The easiest solution is to finish The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes as quickly as possible, but I have over 100 pages left to read, and I probably won’t have time again until the weekend. Sigh.

Do any of you ever have this kind of problem? Or are you completely fine with having four books to read at once?

Entry filed under: 1001, Books.

Of Asymptotes and Allusions Busy, Busy, Busy

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2012
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


