Zero Comments

September 2, 2012 at 1:37 pm 6 comments

Well, I’ll admit it. I’m a little disappointed. I was really hoping to get some feedback on my blog after my recent post “Becoming a Better Blogger (Hopefully)”.

Don’t take this the wrong way, I don’t mean to complain. I really do appreciate all those wonderful little “likes” and the fact that nine people have decided that they like my blog enough to follow it. But I have been wondering lately why I have yet to receive a single comment.

When I started this blog I envisioned myself as a storyteller slowly building a dedicated audience. I imagined hearing the voices of those audience members via the comments as they responded to my writing. I imagined posts being inspired by questions asked or interests displayed on a certain subject. I imagined people offering suggestions as to what book I should read next or sharing what they had thought about the books I post about.

The One Month Mark (Almost)

When I found that no one was commenting but that I was getting some “likes”, I considered how I use the like button myself. When I click the like button, I mean it as an indication that I had enjoyed reading the post. I’d found it interesting or I’d agreed with the opinion expressed in it, but I hadn’t really had anything to say about it. So I thought that perhaps it was my fault. I’m a beginning blogger, after all, perhaps there are things I could be doing to encourage more discussion. Knowing that people like my blog, or at least certain posts, I decided to ask straight out why they liked it. Supposing I might not be the best blogger, I asked for advice.

The post received two more “likes”, but zero comments. The next day I posted something else and asked again in case people had missed it. On this post: one “like”, zero comments.

But Maybe…

But maybe I’m being too impatient. Maybe leaving people two days to read my post is insufficient. Or maybe having a blog for a month is just not enough time or 22 posts and 8 pages is not a large enough sample for anyone to offer an evaluation of my overall blogging ability.

Maybe there’s something wrong with the design of my blog or with my settings so that people don’t know they can comment or can’t understand how to comment or find it inconvenient to comment.

Maybe some of those comments that get automatically placed in my spam folder are actually real comments, the victims of an overzealous filter. I looked in my spam folder and found several generic comments like “Great blog” and “Hi Keep up with the excellent posts. Thank you”. I always assumed that the spam filter was smarter than I was. Maybe these are robot comments that get sent out randomly to hundreds of blogs a day for some purpose I can’t fathom, I thought. But what if they are real, and I’m being paranoid?

I’ve thought all these “maybe”s and more. Like maybe other people use the like button differently than I do and are only liking my posts to show they read them.

So…

The truth is, I have no idea. I have no idea what you guys are thinking. I really wish I knew, but I guess for now I’ll have to get my feedback from my stats and my “likes”. I can probably assume that a post that got more “likes” or brought more traffic to my blog was one that people enjoyed more than my other ones. And then I guess I just have to trust. I have to trust that those likes do mean something and that the people following are reading a lot of my posts. And I have to be thankful for what I have.

And most of all, I just have to keep blogging. I have to keep that vision of a perfect blog in my mind and do my best to turn it into a reality. For myself and for my readers.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Books. Tags: , .

Olaudah Equiano Wow!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hilegunslinger  |  September 2, 2012 at 2:20 pm

    Comment comment comment.

    Reply
    • 2. dste  |  September 2, 2012 at 3:25 pm

      😀 You just made my day!

      Reply
  • 3. DSTE' s Sister  |  December 25, 2012 at 3:47 pm

    I SHALL COMMENT ON EVERY SINGLE POST TO MAKE YOU FEEL LOVED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    – DSTE’ s Sister =)

    Reply
    • 4. dste  |  December 25, 2012 at 5:32 pm

      Why, thank you!

      Reply
  • 5. DSTE' s Sister  |  December 25, 2012 at 3:53 pm

    wow. After you went and complained about getting likes and no comments, you got 5 likes and one comment that said nothing but “comment comment comment.” Effective. But then I came along.=) Don’t you just love me?
    – DSTE’ s sister

    Reply
    • 6. dste  |  December 25, 2012 at 5:29 pm

      Yeah, I do! But I kind of have to cause you’re my sister. lol! Just kidding.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2012
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


