One More Week

August 19, 2012 at 1:59 pm Leave a comment

I don’t usually like to rush through my 1001 books, as you can probably tell if you read my overview earlier. It took me a month to read Walden, longer for Middlemarch, and ridiculously long for Labyrinths, all because I like to go at my own pace. Sometimes a book can be read in a single afternoon, like The Time Machine, and other times it demands time for consideration or digestion, to continue my “books as food” metaphor.

Besides, why rush? By the very definition of the list, I’ve got a whole lifetime. And at the end of it all, I’d rather be able to say that I got something out of the experience than that I finished all 1001. True, it would be absolutely great to be able to say both, but, given a choice, I’d rather have the former. As I said before, it’s all about the journey.

But now I have a small dilema. I’m 258 pages into Great Expectations, a book that’s about 600 total, and I only have a week left until I need to go back to college. Now, part of the problem is that it’s a library book and I can’t take it to campus with me, but really I know that I’ll have much less time to read once the semester begins.

So, here we go, I’m going to try to push myself to finish by the end of the week. If I get done early enough, I might even have time to read Bitterblue. That one’s not on the list, but I read the first of the series because my mom (who works at the library) brought it home on recommendation from the children’s librarian, and she was so glad to hear that I thought it was “pretty good” that before I knew it this one came back, too. Not that I’m complaining; it would make a nice little treat to end the summer on. If I finish with Dickens first.

Current Progress

Great Expectations: page 258 of 598
Clarissa: 12% through volume 8 of 9

Entry filed under: 1001, Books. Tags: , , .

About My Sister Great Expectations Reflections Part 2

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2012
S M T W T F S
    Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


