About My Sister

August 18, 2012 at 5:14 pm 2 comments

Ok, story time! I bet you didn’t know this, but I started this blog because of my sister. One day she walked into the room we share and said, “You should start a blog.”

“What would I write a blog about?”

“Reading the 1001 books.”

At first I scoffed at the idea because she seemed to think a blog would be a great way to make money, which I didn’t think was very likely. But the next day at work I started thinking about it. I have a lot of time to think at my job because it requires a kind of on and off concentration. When you’re walking from place to place, as long as you keep in mind where you’re going and what you need once you get there, you can let your mind wander. Maybe that sounds bad, but, trust me, my job can get pretty boring otherwise.

So I thought about it, and the more I did the more fun it seemed like it could be. I made “Books I’ve Read” page, the “About” page, and my first post, and I showed her. I told her that I wanted to take all my own photos for the site, and that was when she offered to draw some pictures of things I couldn’t take photos of. She was really busy preparing to be the lead in a local play. (She’s actually getting ready for a perfomance right now.) But earlier today she finished one that I had requested for my review of The Time Machine. You can see it below.

Sunset

“the huge red-hot dome of the sun had come to obscure nearly a tenth part of the darkling heavens. Then I stopped once more, for the crawling multitude of crabs had disappeared, and the red beach, save for its livid green liverworts and lichens, seemed lifeless. And now it was flecked with white. A bitter cold assailed me. Rare white flakes ever and again came eddying down … the glare of snow lay under the starlight of the sable sky … There were fringes of ice along the sea margin, with drifting masses further out; but the main expanse of that salt ocean, all bloody under the eternal sunset, was still unfrozen.”

Hopefully she’ll have time to draw lots more for me because this one’s awesome! Don’t you think so?

Entry filed under: 1001, Art, Books. Tags: , .

The Best Laid Plans of Mice and Men… One More Week

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Caitlin  |  December 25, 2012 at 3:43 pm

    btw This is still one of your most popular posts, and it’ s all about me =) hehehe I feel special!
    – DSTE’ s Sister

    Reply
    • 2. dste  |  December 25, 2012 at 5:22 pm

      I guess my readers love you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2012
S M T W T F S
    Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


