An Overview of My 1001 Journey Part 2

August 9, 2012 at 7:26 pm Leave a comment

The First Page of The Three Stigmata of Palmer EldritchI’ve been doing a lot of reading this summer. I’ve read 6 books from the list so far, including The Invisible Man, I, Robot, The Thirteen Clocks, Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?, The Plot Against America, and The Time Machine. I’ve also read several books not on the list, like Graceling and 1Q84. Basically it’s been a great summer for reading.

Right now, I’m reading The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch, which isn’t on the list, but Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? was, and both were included in the same volume. I thought that, instead of returning it, I might as well try one of the other novels in the volume, all of which were written by the same author– Philip K. Dick.

Last night, I finished chapter 6, which was a little difficult to understand. When you have a science fiction novel whose plot focuses heavily on a hallucinatory drug that may or may not have additional properties, it can be a challenge to figure out what’s really going on. Although I like to reserve judgement until I finish reading a book, I think I like this one less than Androids. One passage did provide some insight into ideas that I also found in Adroids, though, so I think reading it will be worth it, if only for that reason. Based on these common ideas about empathy and religion, I wonder if this author has a philosophy that manifests itself more or less in all of his novels.

Since Stigmata has 13 chapters, I think that I’ll be finished with it soon. Once I do, I plan to move on to what will be my 50th 1001 book, Great Expectations. It’s a lovely coincidence that earlier this year, the year of Dicken’s 200th birthday, I read one of his books for the first time as part of a British Lit class. Now, I plan to read a second to mark my first little milestone. Great Expectations is much more famous than Hard Times, so I find myself hoping that it will be even better. Unfortunately, I already know how it begins and ends, thanks to my Fiction Workshop teacher. It’s probably best to read it before I learn everything that happens in the middle as well. Wish me luck!

Entry filed under: 1001, Books, Non 1001 Books. Tags: , .

An Overview of my 1001 Journey So Far The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2012
S M T W T F S
    Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


